Flourless Spinach Quiche

3 Oct

While preparing food for my competition, I came across a few really great resources that helped me do things with chicken and egg whites other than just simply boil them. Now that I’m no longer dieting and it’s after the competition, I have been experimenting with cooking new dishes and baking different cookies and cakes. One website that has been a wonderful, helpful resource both on and off the competition diet has been Chelle’s Fitness Recipes, found here: http://billandchelle.com/fitness/recipes.html. For those of you on a figure competition diet, I recommend clicking on the “View Figure Competition Friendly Recipes Here” link just under the page’s header.

I adapted Chelle’s “Crustless Spinach Quiche” slightly, using what I had in my refrigerator. Here is what I used:

1 tbsp olive oil

5 garlic cloves, minced

3-4 cooked chicken tenderloins, flavored with basil (1-2 chicken breasts could be used instead)

1/2 package of fresh lettuce (about 6 small spinach plants)

12 egg whites

1/2 cup shredded Formaggio al Tartulo (a mild-flavored Italian sheep cheese; could probably substitute Parmesan for a stronger taste or cheddar for a milder taste)

Pepper

Basil

Preparation:

Heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, or about 180 Celsius. Mince all of the garlic cloves, chop onion (if you want to add it), and cut chicken tenderloins or breasts into chunks or strips.

*Chelle’s original recipe only calls for two cloves of garlic ; I love garlic and its healthful properties, so I always use more. The original recipe also has one small onion, which I was out of. I had chicken tenderloins left over from a previous meal. I sprinkled basil on them, then cut them into chunks. You could use any kind of chicken; the original recipe has chicken sausage. I had tofu in the fridge and considered using that as an alternative to chicken.

1) Put olive oil in a skillet and saute garlic and onion for a few minutes. Add in the chicken to warm it up; saute all three together until onion and garlic are browned. Rinse spinach leaves and cut up if necessary while food is sauteing.

2) Using a fork, whisk 12 egg whites in a large bowl. I whisked them as the recipe said for a couple of minutes, or until the whites started to bubble a bit.

3) Add all ingredients: sauteed chicken, garlic, onion, spinach, and cheese. Mix together with the egg whites until all ingredients are moistened. Depending on how much spinach you use, you may want to add another egg white. Add seasonings to the mixture. I only used pepper and basil.

4) Coat a glass or metal dish with non-stick cooking spray or oil. Pour the mixture into the dish and pop it into the oven.

5) Bake for 40-45 minutes or until the center is cooked.

I served this dish with some steaming fresh green beans. It was a delicious, healthy, satisfying meal! Gluten-free and yummy. I was quite happy with the taste, as it was my first time making quiche. I usually avoid quiche because of the crust. Now I will try my own versions. The best part of a meal like this is you can eat the leftovers for breakfast the next day!

Leave a Reply

